[SOLVED] How do I know if all my parts will work together?When building a PC

Apr 21, 2022
I have never built a PC before, and I'd like to get started. I would like to know if my parts work together or not.

Here are my parts:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 5600X 3.7 GHz 6-Core
CPU Cooler: Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B 51.17 CFM CPU Cooler
Motherboard: MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX ATX AM4 Motherboard
Memory: Team T-Force Delta RGB 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 Memory
Storage: Samsung 870 Evo 1 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8 GB NITRO+ Video Card
Case: NZXT H510 ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: EVGA BR 500 W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply

Ralston18

Titan
Start by reading the motherboard's User Guide/Manual. Carefully read any and all Notes, warnings, and other references. Details matter.

There should be some listing of all motherboard supported components along with references to MSI's website for more up-to-date information and details.

Especially with respect to the QVL (Qualified Vendors List). You should also read through the applicable Forums and FAQs. Pay attention to what is said and what is not said.

Then you must do the same for each component: read the applicable documentation, installation guides/manuals. Check websites and reviews.

Plan the build's assembly step by step double checking everything: specs, connections, configuration settings.

Make your own step by step checklist leaving nothing or to chance. Add your own notes and reminders.

Any uncertainty in your checklist should be resolved before beginning the assembly effort.

Do not be in a rush. Work in a clean neat environment with plenty of room and light. Do not force anything. Use proper tools - poorly fitting screwdrivers can easily slip and gouge into something. Do not over tighten screws.

Save all packaging and instructions. Read everything included. Check that all expected contents were included and correct.