HOW do you get INTO "stealth" mode?

Jul 24, 2011
welcome,
i have a question for you.

i know a lot about computers, but i am only a beginner when it comes to the subject of networking.
i heard that you have better protection if you are in "stealth" mode.

what does that mean?
but more importaintly, HOW do you get INTO "stealth" mode?

thank you,
sincerely,

[Security]

Solution
Consider this:

"Many home wired and wireless network routers have a feature called "Stealth Mode". Stealth mode allows you to make the computers on the inside of your home network virtually invisible to hackers.

Stealth mode prevents your router from responding to "pings" from hacker's port scanning tools. Hackers use these scanning tools to find unsecured ports and services on your computer. They could use this knowledge to mount a port or service specific attack. By not responding to these requests your router makes it look like there is nothing running inside your network.

Check your router's setup guide for instructions on how to enable this feature if it is available."

Access your router and disable the ability to respond to...
Jul 24, 2011
:na:Someone Somewhere i'm glad to have met you at some time and at some place,

what about for some kind of security feature like a firewall or something?
you never heard of it, huh?

it makes you "invisible".
i heard about it, but don't know how to do it.

White Hat
Cyber Security Gaurd
God is my Sheild

Jul 24, 2011
Someone Somewhere, hi there,

i have heard of a hidden SSID, but haven't figured out how to do it yet:kaola:
when i heard about it, as it makes it "invisible" -- i thought it was trick (awesome).

however, you are saying that its not all that, huh?
dang, thought i could step up the security a little with this.

:??:so you've never heard of "stealth mode" with the firewall, huh?

SECURITY

Hidden SSID isn't part of a firewall, it's part of the wireless access point.