How do you ground yourself?

Altiris

Honorable
Jun 17, 2012
My motherboard comes with a foam around it, should I keep it on just to install the Ram slots and CPU and then remove it for everything or remove it completely?

Also, how do I ground myself before touching anything?
An electrical engineer (irl) told me in order to ground myself the power supply has to be connected to the PC and be connected with a cable that has a ground pin. He then said you if you have a spare PC touching the back of the PC where the PSU is will take away static while it is turned on.Is the only way to ground yourself, is this efficent? Can I touch any part thats metal on the PC and it will remove static or does it have to be grounded?

An antistatic wrist strap is the best way, but yes, touching a grounded bit of metal is sufficient.

With that said, ESD (Electrostatic Discharge) isn't really that big of a deal. I've been building computers for nearly 15 years and haven't ever killed anything with a static shock. It's actually hard to do and you have to be very careless to do it.

As long as you don't run around on a carpeted floor with only your socks on and then go and deliberately touch all of the ESD sensitive parts (the IC's, mostly), you're fine.

morgilroka

Honorable
Jul 16, 2012
I have never worn a wrist strap when building my systems... But i always make sure to touch some metal on my case atleast before handling my parts. (i usualy work on carpet)

Never had a problem and hope to keep it that way. :)

toolman0318

Honorable
Oct 24, 2012