How much to charge for computer repair

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in IT, a co-worker brought in his personal laptop for me to fix, loaded up with malware viruses, even after cleaning it was extremely slow, talked with him decided reformat and reinstall Windows was the best option, which I did and install the latest drivers, some anti-malware programs etc,etc. How much should I charge for this. I had someone bring in there computer earlier and they gave me 150 bucks to repair a 300 dollar computer...

I know this is a unusual question.

Yeha I know its my call but I dont know where I should really start for pricing. I wouldnt feel comfortable charging to much. I though 150 for a 300 laptop was insane but she wouldnt take some of the money back..

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Personally I charge 85 for tuneups, which is virus cleanup, install all updates, defrag, clean registry, and install free av program for their use, 100 for OS reinstalls. 25 for data backups. 90 for home computer setup, 90 for wifi network setup.

I used to think like you about not charging too much, I am not the most expensive, but middle of the road. Thing is man, you are the expert. People pay for your knowledge. If you dont charge enough, some people might equate your work with being low quality even though you might do a better job than other places, but you are saying with too low pricing that your time is not valuable.

Like me, I work part time in tech field, do this on the side, my wife takes calls when Im out and schedules, but lately I have been slammed.

Just remember when someone brings their computer to you, its about like someone taking a car to mechanic, you are the expert, you have to be confident. However, be honest, if you feel that a repair is not worth your customer's cash, you need to tell your customer that.

riser

Illustrious