How PCIE Lanes work?

Solution

Yes, they have 8 PCIe 2.0 lanes on the motherboard which are used for the M.2 slot, non-GPU expansion cards (if the board even comes with PCIe 2.0 slots) as well as the rarely found on PC Thunderbolt...

jdcranke07

Honorable

As far as I'm aware, granted I'm not an expert on this yet, I'm pretty sure the CPU determines how many PCI-E lanes are available to you. And a Z97 mobo tops out at 24 lanes and a X99 can have up to 40 depending on the CPU. I also believe that all lanes go through in some way the chipset and the CPU. I could be wrong though.

cub_fanatic

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
The PCIe controller is not on the motherboard, it is on the CPU itself when talking about late model Intel chipsets and CPUs like the Z97 and Haswell for example. Natively, as in what the CPU comes with, mainstream 1150 CPUs typically have 16 PCIe 3.0 lanes. If the motherboard has its own PCIe controller which some enthusiast level boards do, this number could go up to 32. This is usually accomplished with a "PLX" chip.

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
Well, it is more or less dependent on the CPU entirely these days. So your CPU really sets your PCIe bandwidth and lanes. For LGA1150 Haswell chips that is 16 PCIe 3.0 Lanes.

Chipset acts as the controller of the lanes and in the case of Z97 adds another 8x PCIe 2.0 lanes. So depending on what you plug in it will automagically assign lanes in the most proper manner to achieve the best possible configuration. Also has your native intel USB, SATA, and all that stuff there.

I'm familiar with PLX chips, but i thought all H and Z chipsets came with some pcie lanes built in?

Ok this makes sense.

So to give an example:

Say I have this configuration on my Asus Z97-A:

PCI x1 = Asus USB 3.1 Card
PCIE 3.0 x16 (x8 mode)= GTX 960 SLI
PCIE 3.0 x16 (x8 mode)= GTX 960 SLI
PCIE 2.0 x16 = Asus Thunderbolt Card

First off, would this configuration even be possible lol?

Would the 960s in SLI use only all the CPU lanes?