How to best transfer data from a large drive to a smaller drive

thinksachi

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2014
I need to reinstall Windows 10 on my SSD. As such, I have to transfer the data from it to another drive temporarily before transferring it back. The temporary drive does not have as much space as the SSD. It's 900GB of data vs 200 gb.

Should I be cloning or imaging the transferred data? Or is there some other approach to this? And how long should I expect the process to take? Can I transfer apps and files or just files only? This is my first time doing this and I don't want to screw up the process. Thanks

Solution
First off, you would clone to a new, blank drive with sufficient space so that's not an issue.

You can't make an Image since you have insufficient space.

Your only option is to save the most important DATA (videos, pictures) that will fit into that 200GB of unused space.

You can't "transfer" most applications though you can backup Steam games (backup is smaller) or copy UPlay, Origin, Blizzard folders then copy them back (some issues there especially with Origin but it works fine once you know what you are doing).

SPEED TO TRANSFER?
Depends on the speed of the slowest drive (i.e. SSD to HDD it's the HDD) as well as file sizes of content. Small pictures for example might transfer 10x slower than larger files.

Even at only 10MBps...
First off, you would clone to a new, blank drive with sufficient space so that's not an issue.

You can't make an Image since you have insufficient space.

Your only option is to save the most important DATA (videos, pictures) that will fit into that 200GB of unused space.

You can't "transfer" most applications though you can backup Steam games (backup is smaller) or copy UPlay, Origin, Blizzard folders then copy them back (some issues there especially with Origin but it works fine once you know what you are doing).

SPEED TO TRANSFER?