How to change default view to "List" from "Details" view ?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamhandy

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2011
First, I'm new to Win 7 in the last couple months (not new to computing)... second, I refused to ever switch to Vista, so I hopped over Vista... went straight from Win XP to Win 7... so ... here I am....

Has anybody discovered a way to change the Windows 7 file and folder view to "List" view instead of the default Win 7 "Details" view?

In WinXP, you simply went to Folder Options dialog box >> "View" tab and it allowed you to change the view for an entire drive with one click. Win 7 does not do this.

I much prefer "List" view, but the only way to change it is folder-by-folder which becomes aggravating after several dozen folder changes.

Plus, once you have changed the file view inside of a folder to "List" view... if you change the folder name, every file and folder, no matter how deep, inside that re-named folder will return to "Details" view.

What a PITA...

I have Googled this and searched for some time, but have come up with no answer, I thought I might ask the folks at Tom's and see what we come up with.

So glad Microsoft is "thinking for us all" again... ugh... I hate "Details" view...

mibix19

Distinguished
Hi. Open windows explorer (windows key + E ). On the top right click the icon and set the folder to the view you want. Then go to the top left and click on Tools\Folder options\ then the View Tab. Click on Apply to all folders

jamhandy

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2011

Yes, this works for the folder you are currently viewing, but does NOT affect all folders and files down stream as deep as you wish to view. Doing this exact thing, changing the viewing folder to "List" view... then checking the other folders and files by opening new folders... they are all still in "Details" view.

In Win XP, this same function would change the view of the entire drive. It does not do this in Win 7.