How to delete network folder that creates this error: "you need permission to [user] to make changes to this folder"

javanoob17

Reputable
Aug 15, 2014
Hello Everyone,

I appreciate your time for reading my post.

I am an admin on my system, but I cannot delete a users profile under C:/users on my system. It is giving me this error from deleting the folder in C:/users. How do I go about doing this? Please provide step-by-step details.

Thank you,

Joe

Solution

So this folder does not reside on your physical PC?
Then whoever controls the system where this folder does reside, has not give you the rights to delete it.

What are you actually trying to do?
Right Click Folder
Click Properties
Click Security Tab
Click Advanced
At the top you should see an owner followed by the a blue "Change"
Change the owner to administrator.

You also may need to give administrator Full Access permissions if you don't have them already in that folder.

Edit: Upon rereading C:/Users sounds like Windows Xp.

The above should be highly similar to the steps in Windows Xp.

javanoob17

Reputable
Aug 15, 2014
Question. How does this affect their files?

javanoob17

Reputable
Aug 15, 2014
I am still unable to remove the network folder. As I could with other network folders. The admins cannot remove the folder. The admins have full access.

Ralston18

Titan
I am going to be somewhat harsher about the problem:

You are trying to delete the folder. You cannot do so. The admins cannot remove the folder...

Whose folder is it? Who is (perhaps was) the folder owner?

I.e., who created that folder, who reads and writes to that folder?

Probably the time to get everyone concerned into a room to discuss the matter, the admin rights, and applicable security considerations.

Seems to be more than a technical issue.

USAFRet

Titan

So this folder does not reside on your physical PC?
Then whoever controls the system where this folder does reside, has not give you the rights to delete it.