Question How to easily upgrade from Win 7 to Win 10

dancole

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2014
I'm a Windows 7 Professional user and am looking to upgrade to Windows 10, however I'm struggling to find an easy solution (likely due to the fact I missed the boat by about 2 years for a free upgrade)

The Windows 10 upgrade tool throws errors and there's no easy way within Windows to upgrade.

aM4rnhD.jpg

Could someone please point me to or explain the easiest way for me to upgrade to 10 at this late stage please?

Many thanks in advance

USAFRet

Titan
With a valid Win 7 license key, that still works to activate a new Win 10 install.

The best way is a clean install of Win 10, and apply that Win 7 license.
Of course, this means you need to back up any data you do not wish to lose. Which you should have anyway, even with an inplace Upgrade.,

dancole

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2014
With a valid Win 7 license key, that still works to activate a new Win 10 install.

The best way is a clean install of Win 10, and apply that Win 7 license.
Of course, this means you need to back up any data you do not wish to lose. Which you should have anyway, even with an inplace Upgrade.,

Thanks for your quick reply however this is my issue, per your link step one is to download and run the tool:

The Windows 10 upgrade tool throws errors and there's no easy way within Windows to upgrade. See attached screen shot. I am unable to clean install W10 on a W7 build it seems? Has support on this upgrade path gone from Msoft?

Cj-tech

Reputable
Jan 27, 2021
The problem with that is if you run the installer on a UEFI computer you'll get a GPT-formatted USB stick that won't boot in a Legacy BIOS machine (or vice-versa with a MBR stick that will boot but not install).