Question How to fix 100% service host:dcom server process launcher?

Dec 13, 2022
hello! so ~1 month ago my laptop has suddenly been spiking to 100% cpu and the cause of this issue is service host: dcom server process launcher. I’ve looked through forums online and managed to lessen the spiking to 1-2 minutes at a time, and only when idle. i do have a feeling that this is caused by a virus of some sort because the problem still persists.
Is there a way to isolate this issue? any help would be great. thanks in advance!

note: im not very good with computers so please forgive me if the info here is not a lot to go off on, i’d be happy to provide more details if needed!

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

i do have a feeling that this is caused by a virus of some sort because the problem still persists.
Run malwarebytes if you suspect it to be the work of a stowaway.

Curious, where did you source the installer for your OS?

my laptop
Make and model of your laptop? An SKU will help us two fold. Can you see what BIOS version you're on at this moment of time? Use CPU-Z to tell you the BIOS version(listed under Mainboard tab). Your laptop's make and model/SKU will be on the underside of your laptop.

I’ve looked through forums online and managed to lessen the spiking to 1-2 minutes at a time, and only when idle
Could you provide links to what you've tried to eventually come across this forum thread?

Dec 13, 2022
hello! give me a moment:

1. i’ve ran malwarebytes, there were no viruses seen but i ran adwcleaner and it got a PUP-something something (i shut down my laptop, will get back to you asap hopefully)
  2. i got my os from windows update, if thats what you’re asking? i bought it at win10 then updated to 11 when it came up
  3. again, my laptop is currently shut down, i will get back to this asap!!