Question How to get the i9 13900ks to run at 3.00 GHz only

slickrick6922

Reputable
Jun 28, 2019
I bought a gaming PC to play games on only, well the main game I play would crash all the time but every thing else would run fine. I'm a PC noob but I've had PC's every since windows 95 came out. The system is a i0 13900ks, RTX 4090 24GB, 32 GB DDR5 Kingston fury ram, 2TB drive with 1200 watt power supply water cooled. I read up on internet and most people say it was the GPU or software problem, I tried everything I read. I open the performance tab in the task manager and noticed that every time I loaded the game my CPU utilization would jump up over 100% and cause the game to crash, The base clock speed is 3.00GHz but the CPU was running 5.50 at idle. I went into bios and turned off Turbo boost and Turbo boost max3.0 and it fixed the crashing problem with the game but now I'm only running 2.6 GHz. what do i need to enable to get the CPU to run the base clock speed (3.00GHz) or maybe up to 4.5GHz?

You need turbo to go above base, otherwise you have to set an all core clock speed, basically overclock but to normal clockrates.
Upload a few pics from your bios from the CPU/overclock settings.
You should have turbo enabled but have PL1 and PL2 (power limit) limited to something logical.
Start with 253W if it's set above that and see how that goes and you can go from there.

Reactions: KyaraM

slickrick6922

Reputable
Jun 28, 2019
You need turbo to go above base, otherwise you have to set an all core clock speed, basically overclock but to normal clockrates.
Upload a few pics from your bios from the CPU/overclock settings.
You should have turbo enabled but have PL1 and PL2 (power limit) limited to something logical.
Start with 253W if it's set above that and see how that goes and you can go from there.