Question How to install drivers in Linux

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulDesmond

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2016
Hi. I am new to this. I have had to use 2 PCs one windows and one now with Linux Debian Cinnamon, I have 2 partitions C: and D: Linux is on the C: I copied NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-340.17.run to the D: so I asume the path to it would be D:\NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-340.17.run

I have tried chmod +x D:\NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-340.17.run

I get unable to locate file.

chmod: cannot access 'D:NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-340.17.run'

Last edited:
I will get a Linux book. It also means that I can't use my printer as I don't have the DVD for that now either.
Stop thinking in Windows terms. You don't need and can't use any of the disks that may have come with your devices. Forget they exist.

If your printer was online at the time of installation the installer detected it and set up support. Assuming of course that your specific make/model is actually supported in Linux. Did you investigate this?

PaulDesmond

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2016
No i didn't because under windows it would be easy to download and install drivers as needed. The printer was not switched on when I did the install as it wasn't needed.

I thought the DVD that came with it and had a linux section was as you call it the package manager.

Online I get
A package manager is a system or set of tools used to automate installing, upgrading, configuring and using software.

That would be what is happening on the DVD?

Last edited:

dmroeder

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2005
No i didn't because under windows it would be easy to download and install drivers as needed. The printer was not switched on when I did the install as it wasn't needed.

I thought the DVD that came with it and had a linux section was as you call it the package manager.

Online I get