how to install linux ubuntu in a hp stream 11(netbook , chromebook like pc)?

alkimia

Reputable
Jun 10, 2014
Hi everyone,

So I bought a hp stream 11 a 8 months ago and it came with windows 8.1 which I hated so I was able to do an upgrade for windows 10 ,the computer was working fine but after installing all the software I need it : office,antivirus and few other applications, the computer became slow and every time I have multiple tabs on chrome or firefox it becomes slower due to its low memory.so i really just wanted this netbook for low level office and internet (movies , facebook , basic stuff) and now because of what I just said doesn't even work for that smoothly.

so I was checking out ubuntu as a possible alternative, dont know if its going to make it faster , ( at least no viruses ) I'm not an expert on linux so I have a few questions:

1.is it possible to install linux in this kind of netbook?
2.how do I get the drivers for this pc for ubuntu ?
3.how do I go about re-formating and clean installing Linux,if someone could give me a breakdown of the steps would be nice but pointing me to the right direction will do.

CPU 2.85-GHz Intel Celeron N2840
Thank you very much in advance,

SPECS:

Operating System Windows 10
RAM 2GB RAM
Hard Drive Size 32GB
MEMORY CARD SLOT/USB
NO DVD-ROM

Solution
1. Yes.
2. Ubuntu should have all necessary drivers already installed.
3. There is a guide up on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbglTmowRK4