Question How to properly undervolt my RX 580 for optimal performance?

Apr 19, 2020
Hi, I'm new to undervolting (and PC building in general) - I want to know if I'm doing the best I can to optimize my RX 580 performance. I want to undervolt my graphics card in order to lower temperature/fan noise, and possibly gain some performance improvements if possible (I was getting upwards of 85C when gaming, and the fan noise was too loud for my liking).

I'm using MSI Afterburner (because I liked their OSD), and my current voltage changes are as follows:

State 0: 750
State 1: 769
State 2: 856
State 3: 1022 (-40)
State 4: 1090 (-47)
State 5: 1105 (-88)
State 6: 1110 (-40)
State 7: 1110 (-40)

I also lowered my temp limit to 80C on Afterburner (which also lowered my power limit to -10), and I have Radeon Chill on (the only graphics setting I changed in Radeon Software so far).

I've been using the Heaven benchmark, but I've mainly been playing demanding games to test the GPU's stability. I've lowered it down twice now (around -20 each time), and everything seems stable - I've been playing games on these settings for a few days now.

I guess the two things I need advice on is how to properly monitor my increase/decrease in performance, and if I need to make any other modifications. I'm not sure if I should be touching any other settings on Afterburner, like Core Voltage, Core Clock, Memory Clock, etc. Should I even be touching the temp/power limits? I've heard different things recommended for these settings.

And for evaluating performance, is clock speed something I should mainly be looking at? What are the optimal levels I should be aiming to reach by the time I reach the lowest voltages I can?

Any tips would be appreciated, thanks in advance.