How to remove ubuntu to install windows 7?

Manomnomnom

Reputable
Sep 27, 2014
Hey,

I downloaded and installed ubuntu on my laptop a while ago, while I did that something went kind of wrong and now I don´t have my windows anymore. I thought yeah big deal I have ubuntu now anyways. Then on a rainy afternoon I wanted to play archeage it didn´t work, I wanted to plat skyrim it didn´t work. The sad me wanted to get windows back, so I got my self a nice windows 7 iso file (not windows 8, boo windows 8). Got to the boot device thingy (f9), but it didn´t show up. Yes I burned the windows iso on a disk. To conclude my question is how can I get my nice windows and remove ubuntu?

Clearly I am not a expert in this computer world but I kind of need help! :3

X

Solution
You burn not copy an ISO such as UBCD. There are other stand alone (meaning you can boot your computer to them, like your install disk for Ubuntu) partitioners out there including your Ubuntu install disk which has gparted or even gparted itself has an iso version. http://downloads.sourceforge.net/gparted/gparted-live-0.19.1-4-i486.iso

After you use gparted or UBCD from a cd to change your hard drive to NTFS then you use your windows installer dvd. This erases everything! If you want to recovery your files do that first and if you need help with that we're here.

Manomnomnom

Reputable
Sep 27, 2014

I already did all that.. and the thing is that the disk does run on my old computer so the disk is bootable. I checked my bios and the optical drive is number 1. But it won´t work :( but thanks for the tip :)

Manomnomnom

Reputable
Sep 27, 2014

Thank you but I know for sure that the disk is fine, because it works on my old computer.. Would you perhaps know what could be wrong with my current computer? :)