Question How to test whether or not my AT&T Fiber BGW210-700 router is faulty ?

Dawei20

Commendable
Nov 11, 2020
I use AT&T fiber 1 gbps speed through a 2 year-old BGW210-700. This then has outputs to ports in various rooms in my home. From one of those ports I have a Cat6 to my gaming desktop computer.

About 2 weeks ago I noticed terrible lag between my client and the server of an online game I play. It is constant and happens on various servers I connect to. I downloaded WinMTR and tried just www.google.com and I get 0% loss until it gets to sent / received = ~100. Then it just gets worse and worse, leveling off to around 60% loss.

My internet speed is still showing ~950 Mbps but it seems like I'm just losing information. I'm sorry I'm not a networking professional and I don't know what else to do, hoping someone can give me a suggestion for another tool to figure out if it's really the BGW210-700 that is faulty so I can make my ISP replace it?

winmtr is not a very good tool you have to actually understand what the tool is testing. It is more of a automated way to do a test but it is very easy to see problems that are not actually problems.
The key one is routers in the path can be set to either ignore ping/trace traffic and give it lower priority if they are busy transferring other data. This is to avoid using ping as a denial of service attack against a internet router.

You are best off doing this manually.
Start with the standard leave a constant ping run to 8.8.8.8. If you do not see loss or very large latency spikes here you have a very different issue that might not be a actual network problem.

If you do see a issue here then you can try ping to the router IP and ping first ISP router. Generally this is hop 2 in a trace.
You can test other nodes but it much harder to get them fixed because it might not be in your network.