How to Transfer all the Stuff on my old Computer to my New Computer?

Portland R

Honorable
Nov 13, 2013
I just bought a new computer that runs Windows 7 pro. I've got an old desktop and an old laptop and I would like to take all the stuff off of those old machines and have it available to me on my new machine - Including my copies of MS Office, my eSet, and some other applications.

How do I do this?

I no longer have an IT guy to rely on so this is my first time even thinking about how to transfer all these files, photos, applications, etc.

Any help out there?

NO. You have to reinstall all the software from scratch, if you don't have the CDs or licenses anymore PONY IT UP and buy new copies. As for your mps, docs, pics, and so on there is a way to do it, but depends on the version of windows on the old computer, and best if you have a external hard drive to dump them to. What version of Windows is on the 'old' computer? Is it x32 or x64? I assume the new computer is x64?

Portland R

Honorable
Nov 13, 2013

Old Computer = 32 bit, Windows 7 Ultimate
New Computer = 64 bit, Windows 7 Pro

Well in the old computer just click the orb in the blank field type Windows Easy Transfer and you can use that to get your data. Problem is x64 is significantly different in how it sets it up, so normally WET will just dump all the stuff into the 'folders' (My Docs, My pics, etc.) only. Normally it would actually put in your background, render all the icons / shortcuts / etc. on your desktop and so on, but your changing from x32 to x64

daveje49

Honorable
Dec 19, 2013
My question follows the same path so I am posting here. I will be trf from one win7 x64 to my new win7 x64 in about a week and I have a trf patch cord on order to link my 2 PC's together for optimum trf ability. The trf of files is an easy no-brainer, EXCEPT I use 3rd party themes (all stored in C:/Windows/Resources/Themes and likewise for Cursors.