[SOLVED] HP Compaq 8100 Elite Small Form wont boot after BIOS change

Jan 14, 2019
Hi I really need some help here.
Im an IT Manager and I have worked on hundreds of systems. I acquired an HP Compaq 8100 Elite Small Form that I was going to connect to a TV for my family. I pulled the video card out since I wanted to use the onboard VGA. When booting the system up it beeped 6 times and then waited for 2 seconds.
I looked up this beep pattern and discovered that it means there is a video error. I put the video card back in and booted the computer up to a regular monitor. Everything was working fine. I wanted to use the VGA onboard for the video though so I went into the BIOS and disabled the PCI slot that held the video card in an attempt to get to read from the onboard VGA. BIIIIIIGGGGG MISTAKE. Now that I have done that the computer will not only ignore the onboard VGA but it wont recognize the video card in the PCI slot because I disabled all of them. I figured if I reset the CMOS it would put the BIOS back to default and allow me to try again however all methods of resetting the CMOS have failed.

I opened the system up after powering off and held the CMOS button for over 15 seconds. Booting up it still does the 6 beeps with no video to show so I cant get into BIOS.

This system does not have a regular CMOS reset jumper but it has a PWD jumper with only 2 pins. I followed the instructions on that and booted it with the jumper on just 1 pin. Booting the system after that again just beeps 6 times with no video.

I tried pulling the CMOS batter out for a full minute along with several other combinations of what was mentioned above. When I boot the system it just beeps 6 times and shows no video. If I could get the BIOS reset I could at least see video and troubleshoot from there but since the BIOS wont reset I cant get any video and the computer is basically a brick.

Anybody have any ideas what I might be able to do to get this computer to boot?