HP DV6000 power on issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

psarchotic

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2009
I have a HP DV6000 Laptop. Im aware of the problems these models have. But this one I have not yet heard of. When I attempt to power it on, the lights turn on for 2 seconds, and it shuts right off. Its not like the Video card issue everyone speaks of. I have extensive technical background, and I have tried taking everything out, and trying each part one by one. I have tried swapping the power button ribbons, I have tried removing the bios battery. I guess im wondering if anyone else has ever been able to figure out whats going wrong with this setup? copuld it be a lack of contact between heat sync and CPU? please give me whatever input you can. I would like to not have to spring for a new Mobo. I can solder, and I am thinking of trying to heat the soldering points with a heat gun maybe. I dont know if thats the problem tho. Thanks!!!

Oh, and also, when the AC adaptor is plugged in, the blue LED surrounding it is on.

about 3 years back I had the exact same problem with a gateway notebook I had. I wasn't able to figure out the problem. I sent it back to gateway, but I never knew what they did. I think they replaced the motherboard.
Sorry I can't really help you any more. The best I can suggest is to reseat all the components. CPU, RAM, etc

psarchotic

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2009