HP Launches Durable Laptop for School Children

Status
Not open for further replies.

extremepcs

Distinguished
May 6, 2008
I work in the education field (tech support end) and unless it is made out of 1/2" high carbon steel, encased in kevlar, kids will find a way to break it. At least Dell coats their school netbook in rubber, which helps if it gets dropped. This one appears to be the standard cheap plastic.

lauxenburg

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
Can't be too rugged if it has a spinning hard drive. There's no way you could ever fill a 160GB drive in Word and Powerpoint documents, anyway. Give them a 32GB SSD. =)

arlandi

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2007
durability for school children, especially for the little ones, means military grade hardwares! dust proof, shock proof, water proof, electrostatic proof and bullet proof casing.

G

"CNet reports that these things weigh in at about 3.2 pounds, which is pretty heavy for a kid to carry around."

With a laptop, they could give them all digital books, that replace those large heavy books so many kids have to carry around. Then the kid would only have to carry a 3.2 lb laptop, and paper/pencil/pen; instead of 4-6 2lb books.

guid_aaa000001

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2010
In future if primary school children start using keyboards, then they will loose their handwriting.
(Instead of a keyboard there should be a pad, on which they can write using a touch pen and look into the screen....)

lashabane

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009
[citation][nom]arlandi[/nom]durability for school children, especially for the little ones, means military grade hardwares! dust proof, shock proof, water proof, electrostatic proof and bullet proof casing.[/citation]

Lol, bulletproof. I could just see a 6 year old getting pissed off at their finger painting, pull out a sidearm and fire away.

anamaniac

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2009
How about a thick magnesium frame with rubber edges, OLED screen, SDD, lithium polymer battery etc.?