Hybrid question part 2

freshbuilder

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
Okay so I've read that you can do a hybrid setup by putting an SSD and a normal HDD in a RAID configuration (not sure which one since I am a bit of a noob and new to this desktop building thing) since I read that this is how you can get the most out of Intel's SRT.

My question is if the size of the SSD actually matters, or as long as its a quick SSD then size wouldn't really matter? BTW how do I measure and SSD's performance, I mean if an HDD's performance can be measured or quantified through rpm and cache what about SSDs?

BTW I'm currently torn between a 32gb Patriot Torqx Sata 2 SSD and a 40gb Corsair F40 Force series SSD.

omega21xx

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
What you are talking about SRT is not a raid, it's ssd caching
space and speed matter most, 20gb is weak, 60gb is good. (more is better but then it becomes better to just get one for a boot drive and do it yourself managing software)
The 40gb corsair is what i would get but if you can manage a 60gb vertex II or III would be best for price/performance.

omega21xx

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Using as a cache will wear it out faster since it has a certain number of write cycles (reads are fine) using as a cache i'd expect you may run into problems in 5 years or 3 if you are very strenuous.

omega21xx

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
That just means you put the disk controller in raid mode instead of IDE/AHCI/SATA your bios will probably see it as raid, but under windows, the program will not save to the SSD only use it as a cache for reads (essentially a huge amount of ram)

SSDs can be quantified through benchmarks, but it's hardly worth doing. All are close to equally fast, and you should choose by reliability and price.