I am a newbie with many questions.

Malice187

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2008
Hey, I'm new here. This looks like an awesome place for a n00b like myself to learn! I hope this is the right forum to post this thread in. This place is huge and and it's making my head spin with all the sub-forums. lol. Anyway, on to my Q's.

I plan to build my first computer in the coming months. I intend to do plenty of studying, and I figure I'll start it here. I have a few questions that I hope some of you vets at building PC's can answer for me. I've posted these questions on a couple other forums, and I'm posting them here as well to get some different answers and opinions.

Before I get started with my questions, I should probably note that I am going for the best and highest grade parts. Money is not an option to me. I'm going to be really splurging on myself for the first time in my life with this rig.

I plan to do some SERIOUS gaming on this rig. As well as music and video editing. Plenty of multi-tasking. I'm also going to be going hi-def with this rig. 1080p monitor, surround sound, etc. And I also wanna go the wireless route with the mouse and keyboard. I really wanna make this thing future proof. I want to build the BEST rig now, and not have to worry about upgrading it for at LEAST a couple years.

With all that said, I'll get to my questions. Please be kind as I am a n00b and realize I will probably seem stupid at times. I'm just trying to learn.

Oh, almost forgot, I will be overclocking, and I do want SLI.

1. Is the 9800GX2 going to be the fastest and most powerful graphics card when it comes out?

2. Is the Q9650 the best and most powerful CPU out? Is there anything slated to be more powerful coming within the year?

3. What is the BEST motherboard to go with the Q9650 and 9800GX2? Whether it's out now or coming within the next couple of months.

4. What is the best sound card currently out or coming out within the next couple of months?