I am a noob, I NEED help badly!

OutOfAmmo907

Honorable
Jul 3, 2013
I built a custom gaming PC last week, only to find out that the hard drive I had bought broke after a week of use. That HDD had my OS on it, which was windows 7, and I do not have the money for a new copy of Windows. I have been looking into Linux, I noticed there were multiple kinds of Linux, like Ubuntu and Redhat. Which one do I use for gaming? Can I put Linux on a flash drive for booting? Is Linux hard to use? Do I need another program to play games that don't have a Linux download link? Is Linux right for gaming, or just for running servers? Any other advice to a beginner at Linux? I need all the help I can get.

Solution
Which one do I use for gaming?
Linux is still behind Windows for gaming. Steam titles are now being ported to Linux and there is an installer for steam on Ubuntu. If you you through here you'll find several discussions on that subject.
Can I put Linux on a flash drive for booting?
Yes, most versions are live, ie bootable from flash or dvd.
Is Linux hard to use?
No harder for the normal user to learn than Windows IMO. For a computer novice, I believe easier. Ubuntu and Mint are the most common with ubuntu having the largest community for support and mint having the more windows like interface.
Do I need another program to play games that don't have a Linux download link?
wine can run many windows programs with...

stillblue

Honorable
Nov 30, 2012
Which one do I use for gaming?
Linux is still behind Windows for gaming. Steam titles are now being ported to Linux and there is an installer for steam on Ubuntu. If you you through here you'll find several discussions on that subject.
Can I put Linux on a flash drive for booting?
Yes, most versions are live, ie bootable from flash or dvd.
Is Linux hard to use?