[SOLVED] I broke off the plastic protector and shielding from my USB 3.0 connection (on both mobo and case I/O cable) but still works. Fix it or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pvtherman

Reputable
Feb 24, 2020
Hello, I am new, apologies in advance if I get things wrong (feel free to correct terminology etc), Sorry I am bit anxious, this is my first time ever building a brand new computer on my own (my previous computers were prebuilt from the store or from family help), so I'm looking for help/advice on how to proceed with my particular situation. Note, I do have pictures to hopefully help illustrate my situation more clearly. I apologize in advance to moderators if I posted in the wrong section/please feel free to move my thread if needed.

Main issue: I accidentally broke off the plastic protector on my motherboard's 3.0 USB header pins AND also broke off the plastic shielding around the female cable end of my PC case's front panel USB 3.0 I/O ports. However, after carefully plugging them all back in, I was able to test and confirm that the front USB 3.0 ports were still functional and working. None of the pins looked bent on my motherboard (the prongs underneath on the now exposed female cable end for my PC case looked slightly bent on one side, see pictures below). I am however, concerned about whether this will have hazards in the long term. Should I be concerned and try to fix things? Or leave it as is?

Please excuse this crude MS paint drawing that I made, but I'm using it to hopefully illustrate how many "parts" I broke the USB 3.0 connection into.

zINqd0s.png

Picture details (how this occurred):
  • I was trying to unplug the USB 3.0 female cable from my board because I wanted to change where the cable would be routed. I couldn't get it off initially so I tried to wiggle it left and right (I used probably too much force, unplugged it, but also took the plastic pin protector off my board).