[SOLVED] I Can’t figure out what’s wrong with my house Ethernet wiring.

Fixmypcpleaseidk

Prominent
May 23, 2019
I have been using a power line adapter for internet but today I decided to change out my phone ports to Ethernet ports and find out where all the lines go. I did the basics of using a multimeter to test for conductivity by connecting two wires and testing the counterparts at the wire hub. The multimeter works fine and but none of the wires worked. And none of the ports connect to each other. My guess was that the cords are all just broken somewhere but I looked at the print on the Ethernet cords. The ones at all the ports are a completely different brand and slightly darker blue than the cords that come to the hub. I can’t find any other hub nor can I see where the wires change brand. I’ve never used the Ethernet lines before so there’s no telling if they even work but I have no other ideas.

Solution
My suggestion: Reverse engineer the situation.

In other words, go online and search for "how-to's" and other DIYs (Do it Yourself) regarding installing a home network with Ethernet cables, wall jacks, patch panels, etc.,

Then based on what you learn, take another look at your physical environment.

Re-read the print on the cables: some may not even be legitimate Ethernet cables.....

Draw a simple diagram showing all cables, ports, connections, etc..

Conductivity is one thing. Ethernet cables (twisted pairs) are designed to eliminate and reduce interference.

Other cables/wiring, such as telephone, are not.

You may not truly have Ethernet wiring.

Ralston18

Titan

In other words, go online and search for "how-to's" and other DIYs (Do it Yourself) regarding installing a home network with Ethernet cables, wall jacks, patch panels, etc.,

Re-read the print on the cables: some may not even be legitimate Ethernet cables.....

Conductivity is one thing. Ethernet cables (twisted pairs) are designed to eliminate and reduce interference.

Solution

popatim