OmegaStalker

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2008
Hi i'm a newbie to overclocking and nees some help. Basically i bought a Acer M1640 with an E4700 2.6ghz Processor and 2GB of ram, i recentley installed a new 500W PSU because i bought a 8800GTX and now i want to overclock my processor and upgrade my ram, but i've heard that its hard to overclock a CPU on a OEM motherboard espcially because i cant find out which one i have, aswell i'm not too sure on how to overclock in the first place, i dont really want to by a new motherboard and really want to get my processor to say 3-3.2 ghz, i really need the extra power as i'm a avid gamer, i know i'l need new cooling and so on but i just need help on what the hell i need to do. Any CONSTRUCTIVE help would be apperciated and help none of the whole dont bother crap. So firstly help on how to overclock on a dualcore in the first place would help and then secondly any help specfically for me would be great, i seek the help of some great Jedi Master lol :kaola: ...

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
wow they actually made a e4700? :O

if its an acer, you can't overclock it. my suggestion would be to either get a whole new build, or replace the motherboard. do some research first though :lol:

btw, you paid a lot more than you should have for that acer :lol: i hate them more then dells...

OmegaStalker

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2008
I didn't pay too much for my system and at the time being a **** didnt think too much about upgrading my system, really do i need to change my motherboard that would be such a hassle... plus wouldnt i need a new case etc and that would expensive... realistically then how long do you think i can last on my processor for if i say just upgrade to 4gb ram and then just wait a while, then say 2 years down the line i can build a new system from scratch... think i can push it for that long?

OmegaStalker

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2008