I know it's an old computer - But a new Geforce 6200 AGP 512 locks the computer up in normal mode but not in safe mode.

dynaryder

Reputable
Dec 3, 2015
Hi - I am new to this computer repair forum stuff. I have a few computers in my house that have always been "adequate". I am not a gamer or anything. I use them for email, word processing, connecting to my printer, some research of mechanical topics, facebooking and some buying and selling on ebay. One of my desktop computers which was about a 2007 version with Windows XP SP2 had crashed a while ago and I had no time or money to fix it. I decided to get it running again, so I installed an XP upgrade and repair so it now has SP3 in it. My plan is to make this machine suitable run windows 7 or 8/8.1 (for obvious reasons in this day and age). Windows upgrade advisor said that I needed to deal with several items as follows:
1. More space on a hard drive (I could swap the position of the 60gb drive but why?)
2. A graphics adaptor with at least 256mb of RAM
3. More on board RAM (1gb minimum)
4. A different email program (which is not a hardware issue)
5. It was not a listed item but I installed a CD/DVD RW drive.

I installed 2gb of RAM (the max it will accept). It works a lot more smoothly. I talked nice to one of my tech friends who has some lines on a few good used low priced 500gb - 1tb hard drives (the machine presently has 2 drives with 20gb & 60gb that are only about half full) - One will be in my hands soon. Finally, I recently obtained a new eVGA GeForce 6200 AGP 512mb video card for a low, low price. It is this last item which has given me the grief.