I need a new CPU fan please help!

Gotbooze

Reputable
May 1, 2014
I bought my cyberpowerpc off walmart last year and i like it besides the terrible graphics card and the annoying CPU fan. I know cyberpowerpc has a 3 year warranty and I could get the CPU fan replaced but I am not sure that it will fix anything. It is a thermaltake cpu cooler and it is annoyingly loud. It is 70mm cooling my amd fx 4100. Can someone please provide me with some fan substitutes that are going to be quiet and still keep my cpu cool? My motherboard has a 4 pin setup though i have never worked with bios before.

Solution
From what you are saying, it seems to me that you're operating under a misconception. The cooler you currently have mounts to the motherboard horizontally... flat. The largest cooler of this style is a Noctua, which is 93x114mm, slightly smaller than the AMD footprint. The better coolers are not horizontal, the tower is Vertical. The base of a tower is Always smaller than the footprint, Always. Some of these towers can 'mushroom' and the fan(s) can overhang the ram, or other components of the motherboard. The only real concern with these towers is if they are actually short enough to fit inside the case once the side panel is replaced. So if your case specs say it will fit a cpu cooler height of 165mm then any tower that will fit an...

Gotbooze

Reputable
May 1, 2014
How can i add pictures because I would like to show you my rig since i do not know what type of motherboard i have. It does not seem like it would fit a 120mm fan at all and i just measured the fan size. from screw to screw its 60mm and from side to side its 70mm with the heatsink being 80mm

You can use imgur, and when you upload a picture it gives you a forum link, that once posted here will display the picture automatically.(Or similar)

Fans are measured side to side, so we will know for sure with the picture, as AMD stock and OEM sinks are very unique.

Gotbooze

Reputable
May 1, 2014