[SOLVED] I need advice on upgrading cooling

Oct 3, 2021
Hi,

I'm new to this forum but I have used the articles from this website a lot.

Back when I built my PC I had a limited budget, still do but I had built it so I could upgrade it later.

Personally the only thing I am happy with still is the CPU. However I just started playing new world and noticed my CPU temp is 176F and just using chrome it is about 163. It starts off at like 100F. I had left it alone for a while (2016) because I had stopped gaming on my PC and was mostly on Ps4. Its not really a preference it was just where my friends were, I don't really care which is better.

This was my build.

AMD FX-8350 4 GHz 8-Core Processor with the stock wraith cooler (I wasn't able to figure out what type of wraith cooler it was, I think it is the wraith cooler max)
ASRock 990FX Killer ATX AM3+ Motherboard (No Idea really how this ranks now)
G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) DDR3-1600 CL9 Memory (I don't really have an issue with 8gb of RAM)
Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (I added a 2TB seagate SSD at some point)
Gigabyte Radeon R7 360 2 GB Video Card ( I know this was not a great card but it plays new world on low ok, I want to upgrade but I can't find a mid tier or better card to replace it with, I'm not the type to camp out at a best buy or something)
Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case
Rosewill 500 W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply (I know this was more watts than I needed at the time but I'm not sure it will be if I upgrade stuff)
Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer (I think I used it once when i set up my pc lol)

I'm not comfortable with water coolers. What can I do to lower the temp and get better performance. Preferable with the idea that I'll upgrade my GPU in the future when supply becomes more normal. I looked and couldn't find much under $500 that would be a significant increase. Prices are insane right now.