I need help determining if i am being bottlenecked by my CPU

Jordan_46

Commendable
May 21, 2016
I recently installed a gtx960 2GB into my PC, when i tried playing some games i noticed it is not performing how it should. i know the 960 is no powerhouse but it should still be able to run grand theft auto 5 on the lowest settings with vsync turned completely off. i was getting 20fps avg in the prologue. i also experienced this on ark: survival evolved and battlefield 4. after researching, i think i am being bottlenecked by my CPU. sorry if im not much help, but im new to PC gaming and not overly experienced. here is my cpu:

AMD A8-7650K Radeon R7, 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G

Solution
Try using a program like driver sweeper or display driver uninstaller (ddu) to make sure all the video drivers are gone. If the drivers for your apu video are still there it may conflict with the nvidia drivers. Then download and install the nvidia drivers, make a fresh install of them. If the error says something like "you are not using a display attached to an nvidia gpu" when you click on the nvidia control panel then you should double check where your monitor is plugged into.

Here's a generic pic off tweaktown just to show the back of the pc to illustrate what I mean. In red I circled where the video out port is for your onboard graphics, if your monitor is plugged into this set of ports/plugs it's using the wrong gpu. In green I...
Not trying to insult you but you checked to make sure you're running off the 960, have the monitor connected to it and not the onboard graphics port? Wondering if maybe you forgot to swap the monitor cable and still running off the apu.

If not then it could be the cpu. A 770 is slightly faster than a 960 in gta v at 1080p.
http://www.techspot.com/review/991-gta-5-pc-benchmarks/page2.html