[SOLVED] I need some help recording two inputs into left and right channels

torveo

Honorable
Mar 8, 2017
I'm not sure if this is the right subforum for this, but this seems like a place where people would know. I've got a mic and a guitar that I need to record at the same time. My soundcard can't use the Line in input and the mic input at the same time, but it does have left and right channels. I would like to have the mic on one channel and the guitar or another. That way I can apply different gain and FX on each. Is this possible? Is it as simple as just buying a certain stereo Y cable? Thanks in advance.

Solution
I think might be because you had the output volume too high. You gotta have it really low or else that happens. I set my amp volume knob halfway between 1 and 2, especially when using the overdrive setting. In the DAW its still showing peaks going up to +1, +2 dB. Gain (I think this is how it works? Im kinda new at all this) is the level of the signal going into the tubes, output volume is the level of the signal going out to the headphone jack/speaker. Not to be confused with input volume if your amp has one (Mine doesn't so its nice and simple for me). I always set mine so that general playing peaks to around plus or minus 2 dB in the DAW and it sounds great, basically the same as the amp itself.

Doesn't really matter now I...
I'm not sure if this is the right subforum for this, but this seems like a place where people would know. I've got a mic and a guitar that I need to record at the same time. My soundcard can't use the Line in input and the mic input at the same time, but it does have left and right channels. I would like to have the mic on one channel and the guitar or another. That way I can apply different gain and FX on each. Is this possible? Is it as simple as just buying a certain stereo Y cable? Thanks in advance.