Question I/O Device error intermittantantly on External Drives

keanedeco115

Prominent
Jan 10, 2018
I Dell XPS 15 l502x laptop running windows 10.

I use external hard drives a lot as I am a photographer and have a lot of photos. I have an intermittent problem whereby the hard drives randomly disconnect, by which I mean after a while when I try to access them windows explorer loads for ages and then I get a i/o device error. If I wait long enough the hard drive often disappears from My Computer if I unplug the hard drive and plug it back in it works fine again for a while.

I know it is not the hard drives as it happens with any of my 4 external drives and I have run various tests checking the hard drives have no issues. I also can use the hard drives on another computer without any issue.

This problem began a few years back when I clean installed windows 10 after upgrading from Windows 7. I had the same issue at the time but after reinstalling the manufactures drivers especially the chipset ones the problem disappeared. It was working perfect for about 2 years and then the computer got a big update back in August and the problem has reared its head again.

I've tried reinstalling the chipset drivers again but the problem persists. The dell drivers are only for windows 7 and 8 but I was able to fix it before. I just can remember exactly what way I did it. Any ideas anyone? Any tips on installing the chipset drivers properly?

I have gone into device manager and removed all drivers relating to the chipset and then installed the drivers but jo difference. I've also tried doing this innsafe mode too but no luck. It is driving me crazy. Is there any error logs I could check to see what is causing the drives to get the i/o device errors? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Last edited by a moderator:

Ralston18

Titan
Are the external drives USB?