I see 4 SATA ports, not 6?

expeditionist

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011
Hi guys

I'm a novice PC upgrader and I've bought 2 extra 3TB internal SATA hard drives to store my photos and now I find my mobo is not as I thought, so I need a bit of advice please.

My PC has an ASUS M4A79XTD EVO Motherboard - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A79XTD_EVO/#specifications. The manual says:

Storage:

SB750 Chipset:
1 xUltraDMA 133/100/66 for up to 2 PATA devices
6 xSATA 3 Gb/s ports Support RAID 0,1,5,10,JBOD

Marvell 88SE6121 SATA controller:
1 xInternal SATA 3Gb/s port(black)
1 xExternal SATA 3Gb/s port (SATA on-the-go)

I can't find the 6 SATA ports as stated though, only 4 blue ones (SATA1-4) and a black one marked SATA_E1 as per photos here: http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2009/12/20234056202l.jpg and here: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/fullimage.php?image=19618

SATA 1 & 2 are already in use by my system hard drives in RAID1, SATA 3 is being used by a blu-ray drive and SATA 4 by a DVD burner, so I don't know where to plug my 2 new 3TB SATA drives.

Any idea why the specifications state 6 x SATA ports?

Where do I go from here? What should I use the SATA_E1 port for?

I might be able to squeeze a PCI2 to SATA card in, but my 2nd ATI Radeon HD5770 graphics card is going to make access to the only free PCI2 slot very tight! Are there speed implications in using a PCI2 to SATA card?

Additionally, I believe I'd need to run a new power cable to power the drives. There's a black 8-pin port that's free on my 950 watt X-Power Pro GTX Extreme 950 and I'll need how that's done please?

Your help would be very much appreciated. Thanks a lot.

knightdog56

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2008
They are right next to the eSATA port on the edge of the board sitting vertical, they are black, and to the right of the ports are the numbers 5 & 6. It shows them in the photo link you posted.

expeditionist

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011