I think I screwed up....

Shinsetta

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2012
Looking for some advice from some of you, experts. I just bought the Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite (ERLite-3) for my home network:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CPRVF5K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I needed a wired router so last night, I just quickly read through the reviews and just picked the one that had good ratings. However, now that I am reading the reviews more closely today, I'm a little apprehensive. Some of the reviewers say that you need to be pretty knowledgeable about networking in order to use this. Did I bite off more than I can chew? (I'm a relatively newbie at networking. I know what a router is supposed to do but that's pretty much it.)

I am basically looking for a wired router for my home. I have fiber optics that come to my house so I was looking for a router with gigabit ports.

I stream movies from a server to my TV. And when I'm on trips, I also like to stream movies for my kids and me from this home server using Plex (at the highest setting). Also I play a bit of games.

I just noticed that this only has 3 ethernet ports so I guess I need to buy a switch because I need 2 additonal ports. Or should I return it and get something else?

Thanks for your help, guys.

Solution

newbcakes

Honorable
May 21, 2012
how about something like this? https://www.amazon.com/Cisco-SG300-28-Ethernet-Switch-SRW2024-K9-NA/dp/B007I5AE8S/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1470845677&sr=1-3&keywords=cisco+sg300-20

I'm no network pro, but I can work my way around most network gear. I've created vlan's, isolated and shaped traffic, etc. Are you using the EdgeRouter for its firewall/NAT capability?

let me clarify - I own one of these, and have it installed in my home, driving any wired device (PC's, TV's, anything with an Ethernet port). It was "plug and play" unless I wanted to configure something specific.