Question I think my CPU is running WAY too hot and need some advice.

Oct 8, 2019
Right now I have an I9 9900K and a Noctua Dh15. I was using a 3d rendering program that uses my CPU and my GPU which is a RTX 2080ti.

In games I reach about 60-64C which is fine. While rendering stuff in the program I reach (Current highest) 86c.

I checked / reapplied the thermal paste. I made sure the fans are directing air flow the right way, I made sure the seating was tight but not too tight and now I am just out of luck I suppose.

The rest of the computer is great, it's a meshify C case. Tons of airflow / nothing is restricted but I can't get the damn temp of the CPU down.

Does anyone have suggestions for a watercooler ?

Oct 8, 2019
What is your current CPU usage when running the rendering process?
Not kidding - 100%.

I may sound foolish typing this because I'm still new to building my own PC, but surely 86c is too hot. I want to assume it's not the program being too demanding, rather an insufficient cooler.

240mm AIO - Would that change anything?

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
It's a i9 9900k. There is no 'getting the temp down' as such, the NH-D15 is as good as it gets. For air cooling.

The D15 is a 250w+ cooler. The i9 9900k is a 200w stock, 250w @ 5.0GHz cpu. That's going to stretch the limits of any cooler, 240mm aios included. With the meshify C, you are looking at top mount 240mm, front mount 240/280/360mm, so front mount will be your only viable placement for that cpu. 280mm is @ 300w+, 360mm is @ 350w+. But thats capacity, not just temps. Temps is a measure of efficiency and the NH-D15 holds its own or beats even the big aios, under 250w. So gaming temps might go up a few °C, but the rendering will go down. How much so depends on the aio and it's fans.

There's 2 options, RGB or not. For the RGB, it's a toss up with the CM ML360R and the TT Water 3.0 ARGB sync. The Corsair H150I Pro coming in 3rd.