Question I want to completely disable overclocking

May 4, 2019
I recently just built a computer and the motherboard is honestly confusing me.

Motherboard: MSI B450 Tomahawk
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600x
GPU: AMD RX 580
RAM: Corsair Vengence 16gb (2x8gb) 3000MHz DDR4 [set at default 2133Mhz by motherboard]

The only bios settings I did was I disabled Performance Boost overdrive (was setting my CPU at 6Ghz on a stock cooler) and I enabled Cool'n'Quiet. In windows, I set my power plan to default Windows Balanced (Ryzen balanced didn't show up despite chipset drivers being installed).

My question is how do I turn off OC completely? I'm on stock cooling and I want my processor stay within its box specifications of 3.6Ghz (4.2Ghz turbo) with standard voltages. Even with Overdrive off, hardwareID occasionally reports around 4.258ghz and 1.475v (CPU VDD). VID #5 has hit 1.494v as a max.

All help would be appreciated and I can post more details if needed. I'm new to all of this. I don't know what is and isn't normal for my processor.

Uodate:
Core 0 1 and 5 have hit 4.629ghz and my turbo frequency is only supposed to be 4.2ghz.

Last edited:
If you reset the BIOS to the factory default settings by removing the CMOS battery, what it sets to after that WILL be the factory default settings including default boost behavior.

There is no need to "turn off" overclock settings, since they are only "on" if you turn them on. There are no systems that "automatically" overclock on their own without you telling them to. I'd do the following.

Power off the unit, switch the PSU off and unplug the PSU cord from either the wall or the power supply.

Remove the motherboard CMOS battery for five minutes. During that five minutes, press the power button on the case for 30 seconds. After the five minutes is up, reinstall the CMOS battery making sure to insert it with the correct side up just as it came out.