i5 4670K temp goes over 93c after overclocking to 4Ghz?

Jurassic Park

Reputable
Dec 18, 2015
Hello everybody,

I have question regarding overclocking my CPU.
I have aftermarket cooler,and I tried to OC my i5 4670k to 4Ghz with default voltage.
However,once I ran Prime 95 and started to stress test with it,my HWmonitor says temps go over 90-100c.
I tried to overclock it to 4,4Ghz with 1.350v,but it was only hotter and reached 100c in minute or so.

Could you please tell me why does CPU run so hot and how can I fix it?

Every comment is welcome!

Peteu

Reputable
Nov 3, 2014
I'm not an expert by any means but leaving default voltage on is likely the cause of it heating up so much. I have mine setup at 4.4ghz with 1.225V and it never gets hotter than 70 degrees.

Edit: Sorry I didn't see you'd tried setting the voltage to 1.35v - I've read that these chips are really hard to keep cool. In the results I've seen for it, I don't think I've seen anyone successfully keep it at a reasonable temperature with that much voltage.

Jurassic Park

Reputable
Dec 18, 2015

I have this cooler:
http://www.lc-power.com/en/product/power-supplies/lc-cc-120/
When I stress test it on default,temps were around 73-76c

In your opinion,what ratio of voltage/CPU Ghz should I try?
I know all CPU is silicon lottery,but what would it be a ''sweet spot'' for you?

Jurassic Park

Reputable
Dec 18, 2015

I just applied paste and tight it more with screw driver,but now PC won't boot,so I pulled out battery and now I'm waiting for some time so it may boot properly.Once it boot,I'll check temps.

Jurassic Park

Reputable
Dec 18, 2015

I manage to boot PC,and I tested CPU with HWmonitor on stock.Temperature was around 60-ish.
I downloaded old version of Prime95 26.2 because I heard it's better for Intel's processors and it will give more accurate results,so that's may be the reason why it run so hot?