Question i5 9400f overheating when gaming

May 17, 2023
So I have an intel core i5 9400f , 8gb GSkill RipJaws , MSI Z390-A PRO motherboard , Asus RTX 3070 and MSI Gold 850w PSU.

I was playing Guardians of the Galaxy on my PC (1080p - Ultra with ray tracing) and i wanted to check my GPU temperature for all this ray tracing. I opened up "Speccy" and to my amazement , GPU was sitting at 65-70C while my CPU was 85-92C. I tried lowering the graphics but that eventually lowered GPU temp and not CPU temp. Then I thought it was the thermal paste and the stock cooler which was causing this. So i got "Ant Esports ICE-C612" cooler. Checked the temp again and still temp going till 92 or 93C. I do not see any thermalthrottling as the performance never goes down.
but why is my CPU getting so hot. I have a CoolerMaster M520 cabinet with all stock fans.

Reactions: Adrian1979
So I have an intel core i5 9400f , 8gb GSkill RipJaws , MSI Z390-A PRO motherboard , Asus RTX 3070 and MSI Gold 850w PSU.

I was playing Guardians of the Galaxy on my PC (1080p - Ultra with ray tracing) and i wanted to check my GPU temperature for all this ray tracing. I opened up "Speccy" and to my amazement , GPU was sitting at 65-70C while my CPU was 85-92C. I tried lowering the graphics but that eventually lowered GPU temp and not CPU temp. Then I thought it was the thermal paste and the stock cooler which was causing this. So i got "Ant Esports ICE-C612" cooler. Checked the temp again and still temp going till 92 or 93C. I do not see any thermalthrottling as the performance never goes down.
but why is my CPU getting so hot. I have a CoolerMaster M520 cabinet with all stock fans.
I have not found any professional reviews on the Ant Esports ICE-C612. Reading user stuff it looks like it might only be a minor upgrade from the stock Intel cooler.

With your case are the intake fan blocked by dust at all?

May 17, 2023