Question i7-10700 High idle temp - 35-40c (Need help with the fan/AIO pump)

Jul 20, 2020
Hei there guys,

A few days ago I made a new upgrade on my pc, i got an i7 10700 + ASUS PRIME Z490-P and Liquid Freezer II 120 .

The first thing i notice is that on the bios the AIO pump shows as N/A, keep in mind that this cpu cooler have only 1 connector for the MB, 1 for the pump and for the cooler. I'm new to this liquid pump coolers so i need some help here.

The second thing is that my idle temp on the CPU is around 40c, I also did some gaming 2-3hours and the max temp was around 75c, most of the time was around 70, which i think is kinda high with this cooler no?

I also used the thermal paste from the cooler wich i know is decent since is artic. The thing that you put on the cpu is really tight screwed, i mean i've done this before on many air coolers but never done on water ones. I also put the thermal paste well in the middle not to much not to little.

Are those temps okeish or i should change something? Also is the AIO pump N/A thing ok or?

https://ibb.co/TYg6LTP - cpu temps
https://ibb.co/ssrLV6h - case and cooler

Thanks, i'll wait for further guidance.

Last edited:
Jul 20, 2020
Idle thermals don't matter - that's determined by your room(ambient) temp. The air in the chassis will always be warmer than that.
It's the load thermals that actually matter. Just 75C after a few hours in game? That's perfectly fine.

Also you have any idea why the cpu always stay on boost,even at 2% use ? I'm on balanced power settings not on high.

Jul 20, 2020
Its not faulty it’s just 120mm AIO’s are not good coolers and are really only a good choice when space is a problem and you need to get the hot air outside the case. Generally any similar priced air cooler would perform better.

So all things working properly even if the temps are around 40 in idle no?

Turtle Rig

Prominent
BANNED
Jun 23, 2020
So is the cooler fault?