Question i7-13700k hot and under 20k points score in Cinebench ?

Dec 28, 2022
Hi there,

first of all my Systems Specs:

Intel i7-13700k
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240mm AIO
MSI Z690-A WIFI PRO SERIES
RTX 3070
Be Quiet Dark Base 700 Case (1x Front, 1x Rear Fan)

9Qd3X1F.png

As you can see after about 6 Seconds of running Cinebench my Temps are already up at 100°C. I already limited the Power Level in the BIOS to 253W but that didn't really help.

The AIO is connected to the PUMP Fan Slot on the Mainboard, the Front and Rear Fans on the CPU Fan Slot.

I'm not really an Expert on Over/Underclocking - but it seems to me my Score in Cinebench of under 20k is a bit low and the Temperatures are too high. Do you have any Suggestions for this?

Thank you!

Dec 28, 2022
Thank you for your Response.

Because the manual of the Case said that it needs to be a PWM Slot and I believe that only the CPU Fan Slot and Pump Fan Slot on the Motherboard are PWM. Since the Pump Slot has more Voltage I thought it best to put the AIO there and the Case Fans on the CPU Fan Slot.

The Fan RPM of the AIO is more or less always at MAX RPM (see the Screenshot below).

Short Update to the Situation: I have bought another Thermal Paste and reinstalled the AIO just to be sure - the Cinebench Score is now at 24640 and the Temps are a bit better (not all Cores are at 100° but they often hit 100° nonetheless). I'm at a loss unfortunately and appreciate any help.

uXP79Lz.png

Phaaze88

Titan
Ambassador
I already limited the Power Level in the BIOS to 253W but that didn't really help.
These results are probably about right then. 240mm AIO/CLCs are good for up to 250w of heat energy - ON PAPER.
1)If cpu package power is actually getting up to 250w, and the cooler is rated for up to 250w, then it should be no surprise that some cores will get in the 100s(C).
Gonna have to allow for some headroom - cap the max boost power to 200 or 220w. 253w is too much.