i7 4770k high temps

TheLostCauze

Reputable
Apr 4, 2014
Hello everyone,

I recently got a new system which includes an i7 4770k and a Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev. A. I set it up, ran Aida 64 and the temps peaked at 74-78C in a room with around 25C. I google'd the results and found out these are way higher that it should be with this cooler. In idle, it stays between 23 and 30C. I don't do OC, i keep everything standard. I asked on another forum and the replys were to change the CPU. I doubt the warranty covers that, since the CPU works, i didn't look into it. First, i wanna try more simple solutions. The thermal paste i used was the MX-2. Do you guys think the paste that comes with the cooler is better? If not, you have other sugestions? Maybe the MX-4? I'm a total noob when it comes to hardware, so keep it somewhat simple, not "delid the CPU" I appreciate any help.

Thanks!

Sorry for my typos, english is not my native language.

Could you give some links to where that cooler performed so well on an i7 4770k? From the numbers you gave and that seems about what temps you should be getting on Aida 64... Might be slightly high @stock but eh... anyway could you provide a link i'd like to see it, couldn't find anything myself.

Eggz

Distinguished
Well written for not speaking native English!

Your temperatures aren't bad. I think the CPU will be safe, so don't worry about that. You are near the Tcase temperature, and the TJmax is 105. So 78 won't kill it.

If you want to improve the temperatures, you can try the Arctic Silver 5 paste. It's only $8 and is really good.

You can also take it apart and reinstall the cooler really carefully to make sure everything is lined up the right way. Cooling a CPU comes down to contact. Your cooler has to be as perfectly flat against the CPU chip as possible. Air bubbles, dust, gaps, whatever mean less CPU chip touches the cooler, and that prevents the cooler from absorbing heat off the chip.