i7 4790K & XMP Profile for Corsair Vengence 2400MHz causes BSOD

jamiepatterson441

Honorable
Jan 3, 2018
Hi there, I recently got a set of 2 x 8gb Corsair Vengence 2400MHz RAM for my Z97 based system, (i7 4790K and Gigabyte Z97 D3H) I enabled XMP and realised a great performance boost in my Flight Simulator (P3D) by about 20FPS, seems hard to believe I know. All was going well for 20 minutes until I had a BSOD. So I decided to dial back the XMP profile back to 1333MHz. Launched again and everything is fine. I then tried a manual overclock of 2000MHz, which was more stable and for longer, say around 40 minutes. I'm pretty new to overclocking RAM so I would like some help. Even to gain stability at 2000MHz would be fantastic as there was no real difference between 2000MHz and 2400MHz on my machine.

Many Thanks!, Jamie :)

Solution
Check you MB manual. It generally prefers the memory set in a specific way( ie: use black slots for two sticks in dual channel ).

What do you have on VTTDDR on the bios? Is it on auto?What about CPU voltage? You are overclocking the memory so you need to give it more juice, those 2 settings control that.

You can also try this guide:

Step 1 -- When does the error occur

Follow this step by step guide to learn how to fix the blue screen memory management error.
This error suddenly appears when your Windows is booting in normal condition and then restarts automatically.

Step 2 -- Open windows in safe mode

For the purpose of this tutorial, we will open our windows in safe mode. In order to do so, press the F8 key when the system is...

blacknemesist

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2012
Can you post images from CPU-Z?
Check if there are any bios updates for your MB that fix the problem.
If problem presists run MEMTEST86 to rule out faulty memory sticks.