i7 7700k temperatures after 4-5 hours of continous gaming

harmeen

Commendable
Apr 3, 2017
Hey all

I have been reading a lot about i7 7700k temperatures as this is the processor i have picked for my build with noctua nh D15 as CPU cooler(No liquid cooling).This is my first build and i am completely NOOB at this. After doing some thinking and reading views and all, i finalized this. Also, I don't plan to upgrade pc for the next 8-10 years so i thought of going ahead with these specs. Please suggest any changes if necessary, i would be more than happy! The full specs are as follows:

Case : Corsair Obsidian 750D Air flow edition
Processor : i7 7700k
Cpu Cooler: Noctua NH D15
Mobo: Asus Z270E Strix
Ram: Corsair vengence LPX 3000MHZ
SSD : Samsung 850EVO 250GB
HDD: 1Tb WD 7200 RPM
1Tb WD 7200 RPM
PSU : Corsair RMX series 650w
GFX: Zotac 1070GTX AMP edition

Query - After seeing people perform tests using real temp or stress testing CPU software to compare temperatures at idle times and load times, I had a question regarding the temperatures at continuous usage, since those results are just limited to the time the CPU was under load(Correct me if i am wrong).
Now if i were to play a game and record it for 4 or more hours straight then wont the temperature increase? And if so then how much more?

Thanks for the reply in advance.

Oh yea one more thing, I live in India and temperatures could go as high as 48 - 49C, and since i am going with an air cooler, i am quiet worried about temperature. :)

Solution
Well, there's the Core i7-7700, but you could also consider a Ryzen 5-1600X. It's cheaper and offers more multithreaded performance.

Then again, temperature measurement and cooling on Ryzen is currently a bit weird, so maybe the 7700 is the safer option for your environment.
Usually the chip will reach its peak temperature fairly quickly. Within minutes rather than hours.