I7-930 and Crossfire 570's Bottleneck?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkchampion14

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
Will an i7-930 at stock speeds (but undervolted to 0.9735v in BIOS) bottleneck two 5770's (1 Sapphire Vapor-X 5770 and 1 HIS IceQ 5770) in crossfire?
My motherboard is an Asus p6t (not deluxe, not SA, not Ws pro or whatever, the first -- good -- one), and I have a CoolerMaster Hyper 212+

Solution
No, you should not have any bottlenecking problems with that setup. The Motherboard's pci-e lanes and processor are made for just that type of set up. The power consumption for each card under full load is 284 watts. The second card probably doesn't draw the full power under load so you should be ok. But I've run a couple of psu calculators and they all say at least 600 watts. Are you experiencing trouble or just asking?

mkchampion14

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
It's OCZ Fatal1ty 550w (OCZ550FTY) Modular Power Supply
And before you ask, yes, it's completely stable mornings overclocked beyond whatever the speeds were out of the box to make sure of that part.

suteck

Distinguished
No, you should not have any bottlenecking problems with that setup. The Motherboard's pci-e lanes and processor are made for just that type of set up. The power consumption for each card under full load is 284 watts. The second card probably doesn't draw the full power under load so you should be ok. But I've run a couple of psu calculators and they all say at least 600 watts. Are you experiencing trouble or just asking?

Solution

mkchampion14

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
Actually this was just a question to see if I needed to overclock the processor at all :D