[SOLVED] I7-9700k Overclocking

Dragon155

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2016
Hi all,

Pretty recently I purchased a I7-9700k, and an ASUS z390-A motherboard. And the CPU is a pretty terrible overclocker, but since I am rather new at overclocking, typically just punch in numbers, I am sure there is some improvement to be made. For a while, I could not get it to be stable at 5Ghz, even at 1.39V (I know enough to not try and feed it 1.45), and I could get it to be stable around 4.8ghz, with a 1.34v overclock. Recently I was scouring around, and disabled asus multicore enhancement or whatever, and managed to pull 5ghz, with a 1.34v, and the voltage automatically goes up around 1.359 here and there. First question would be, is that voltage safe for long term use, and secondly, is there anything I can do to improve the overclock, and or reduce the amount of voltage required, as I plan to have this cpu for quite some time. If not I suppose 4.9ghz would suffice...

Thanks in advance!

Solution
MCE is not going to change anything if you are entering fixed/manual multiplier values in the BIOS.

When MCE enabled, if multiplier is in auto, should see all cores at 4.9 GHz under load....but lower clock speeds when load is reduced, to 800-1200 MHz...)

(If you wish 4.x GHz for sustained 24/7, even for reading e-mail reading and solitaire, however...proceed as you've been doing) :)

70-75C on stress tests is about all you could hope for, really....; that is quite good , IMO)
What will actually you be doing with that last 100 MHz across all cores?

Adding 1 extra FPS to a 130 fps total at 1080P, or, adding nothing because you play at 4k? :)