I7 temp advice 3.8ghz on air

frozenreads

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2009
Hi,

Been steadily rising my i7 cpu up to 3.8ghz on air and was wondering if someone could confirm if my temps are ok. I am pretty new to overclocking and am not sure what 'good' temps are for the i7 920 when OC'ing. My sunbeam freezer cooler seems to be doing a good job.

So at 3.8ghz I am getting around 32-38c on idle and up to mid 40's for something like crysis. Running 4 x sp2004 produces mid 50's to 60C. Is this too hot, or is this ok? I have heard of people getting these temps at lower speeds, so I am assuming my cooling is doing a pretty good job. Internal system temps never get above 32c.

Any advice would be fantastic! many thx

D3LTA09

Distinguished
May 19, 2008
Sounds pretty good, but you really would want to download prime95 and do some blended stress tests and check temps with both real temp or core temp (make sure are the same). Dont need to leave it going for hours, 10-15mins is more than enough for thermal saturation to occur. As for good temps there is a guide written by computronix on these forums which will tell you all about what temps are good, should have a read. Essentially you would want under 70c but technically thermal thortling wont occur until 100c, personally I like mine at 60 or less which is why I backed mine down to 3.5 from 3.8.

Winly

Distinguished
those temps look ok. they would be better if they stay below 50 but its fine. i recommend you to run prime95 and some other programs that stress your pc so you can be sure you have a rock solid OC. and let them run at least 8 hours, that way you are really sure.

frozenreads

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2009