• Now's your chance win big! Join our community and get entered to win a RTX 2060 GPU, plus more! Join here.

Meet Stan Dmitriev of SurrogateTV on the Pi Cast TODAY! The show is live August 11th at 2:30 pm ET (7:30 PM BST). Watch live right here!

Professional PC modder Mike Petereyns joins Scharon on the Tom's Hardware Show live on Thursday, August 13th at 3:00 pm ET (8:00 PM BST). Click here!

Question I9 9900K overclock

Morne19

Reputable
Jan 28, 2017
Good day folks, hope all is well.
specs:
I9 9900K
Asus z390 F
Corsair vengeance 32GB 3600mhz ram
corsair hx 1200w psu
asus gtx 1080ti oc strix
thermaltake floe riing 360 aio
Thermaltake view 71 case

So basically I am a noob overclocker, and I want to wander into the great unknown that is overclocking and I decided to go for it. My system is only used for gaming and streaming here and there.I followed a few you tube tutorials and read a few online forums and gathered as much info as I can on how to overclock my CPU and I just want to know from you folks if everything I did is okay and if I need to change anything. The bios settings I have changed are as followed:
XMP profile 1 active
AVX instruction core ration negative offset : 0
CPU core ratio : sync all cores set to 49
CPU SVID support: disabled
ASUS multi core enhancement: disabled
long duration package power limit : maximum value
package power time windows: maximum value
short duration package power limit: maximum value
BCLK aware adaptive voltage : disabled
CPU core/cache voltage : maunual set to 1.325( I found this to be a stable voltage with the best temps for 4.9Ghz)
my windows power setting is set to high performance
and thats it!
I use HW monitor to monitor my temps and my vcore and the values I give here are the exact values as HWmonitor displayed. I ran cinebench R20 and played a few games such as battlefield V and COD warzone, my foundings are as such:
At idle my temps were around the 37 to 40 degrees celsius