I9-9900k P95 Small FFTs 90c+ stock clocks

Jan 25, 2019
Freshly built system:
I9-9900k
Gigabyte Auros Ultra mobo
Kraken x72 front mounted
NZXT H700i case

The I9-9900k using stock clocks is hitting 90c+ when running P95 Small FFTs v29.4. I have a Kraken x72 in the front of my H700i case pulling are over the radiator. The pump is set to 100% as well as the fans and it instantly hits 88c+ when running the Small FFts test. I am using a Gigabyte Auros Ultra board and cannot figure out why the temps are so high. At idle I am seeing 27c-32c temps and in games I have not seen it go over 55c. I am going to get some thermal paste and reseat the AIO but would idle and game temps stay that low if it isn't seated well? In HWMonitor I am seeing a max of 1.296VCore that seems high when most sites I have seen recommend starting at 1.3 to see if 5GHz is achievable.

As far as I know, I'm not an expert, but running an AVX workload on prime95 at standard clockspeed produces unrealistic amounts of heat unless you specifically work with AVX. That's why most people recomment using programs other than prime95 to burn test. You can also set a negative AVX offset on most motherboards if you're interested in that. If it's only at 55C while gaming I wouldn't worry. Check and see what your temps are sitting at in something like cinebench.

I'd try running version 26.6 Prime95 if you are planning on testing with this particular software. It's the last version prior to using AVX instruction sets. Newer versions are not recommended for long-term testing/benching as the powerdraw and extreme strain on the motherboard VRMs and CPU could cause damage over time. The AVX loading used for these tests are above and beyond "real-world" scenarios for which AVX would be used in typical programs from my understanding.

CompuTronix

Intel Master

sburd2006,

On behalf of Tom's Moderator Team, welcome aboard!