IDC: Chromebooks Outselling iPads In Education Market

Status
Not open for further replies.

InvalidError

Titan
It takes a real genius to figure out how a keyboard can be a significant asset in the education sector. The generally lower prices do not hurt either.

For any remotely significant amount of typing, I vastly prefer a physical keyboard over an on-screen one: much fewer typos, it does not eat 30-50% of my screen and it allows separate angles for the hands/keyboard and screen/eyes. Much more comfortable in general.

LordConrad

Distinguished
As a computer tech, I bought a Chromebook to get familiar with them and see what all the fuss was about (I bought a 13 inch model). Because it boots so quickly and has a real keyboard, I'm constantly using it around the house and have mostly retired my iPad.

The Chromebook obviously can't compete with my Windows PC or Laptop for the big stuff, like gaming or video transcoding, but for the more simple everyday tasks this Chromebook is awesome.

stevejnb

Honorable
May 6, 2013
Cheap and crippled to bare functionality is a perfect school device, and the keyboard alone makes it a superior option for schools. Why pay more just so the kids can mess around and be unproductive? For school purposes, I actually prefer these to Windows devices. Even Surface RT products would need a $200'ish price point to compete, and they're sitting at over 2x that with a keyboard.

runswindows95

Distinguished
I agree 100%, Invalid error. I'm leaning more towards a Chromebook over a tablet because of the keyboard. On a keyboard, I can do 60wpm easily. On a touch screen, I drop to some days 5wpm, 10wpm if I'm lucky.

damianrobertjones

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2010
Other than price, but that has even now been matched, there's ZERO reason to own a Chromebook. Sure, ok, if you like them then that's perfectly fine but anyone proclaiming that they're fantastic compared to a windows machine is simply being a small bit delusional.