devoshi47

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2002
Help you guys...I am thinking about adding a graphics acclerator and second monitor for MS Flight Sim 2002, but am getting a bunch of conflicting information from the sim guys and even from HP.

Some guys say I can just add a second monitor. Some say I should add a graphics card such as the GEFORCE4 MX440 to an available slot and some guys say my MOBO won't accept it and I should replace it. Some say that I can a graphics card to a sim slot, but I won't get 3D output from the second monitor.

If you were me, with my system and the ability to spend a couple of hundred bucks, what would you do?

Any thoughts ??? (and please remember I'm new at this stuff)MANY THANKS

Listed below are my current system components:
-----
HP Pavilion 7935
WinXP Home
Processor: AMD Athlon
Speed: 1.3 GHz PC133 (runs @ PC100)
Type: SDRAM 640 MB
Display Adapter: S2 GraphisProSavage (Device Mgr indicates it can be disabled)
DIMM slots (2)
Hard drive 40 GB
CD-RW 8x4x32
“video graphics Integrated in chipset, no AGP slot”
Sound/audio AC97 Audio

nexus_alpha

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2001
If you stick with the your current motherboard you will need a pci graphics card limiting your choose but if you can get a new motherboard (one that supports your current cpu and memory would be nice). Geforce's do come in pci flavours so who ever said your mobo does not accept it is not entirely right. ATI and nvidia have some great twin monitor solutions ATI solutions tend to have a more robust multi-monitor support in the form of hydra-vision. An ATI r8500 can be had for just above a hundred and will out perform a geforce 4 mx,a ti 4200 will also do. Pros of the r8500 cheaper better multi-monitor support decent 3d performance. Pros of the marginally better 3d performance. Honestly I would wait until around the end of july because cheaper/better solutions are to be released by both companies.